Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bid a job , got it & scheduled it . We start on monday . But when i went to deliver the wood flooring and opened the boxes and looked at the product i was a little taken back . The pre-finished wood comes in diffrent widths.

I've been doing wood floors & tile for almost 19 years but i've never seen wood come in diffrent widths. I've done many large tile projects with patterns , but this is diffrent.

The boards come in 4 , 5, & 6 inch widths . All the boards are radom lengths . Does anyone know how to lay this pattern ? Is there a simple secret i'm not seeing here?

Attachments

·
Painter/Rehaber
399 Posts
That's what you get for shopping at Menards.

·
Banned
846 Posts
Is it a mistake?

·
Painter/Rehaber
399 Posts
That is how I pictured it. Just curious. Do you find you discard more material when installing this specific type of flooring?

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Maybe I'm just not getting your question... But I'd say you either randomly alternate rows of each size, or repeat them in a pattern: 4, 5, 6--4, 5, 6, etc.

The wood is not a mistake .

Chrwright ,Thats make sense . Thanks for the heads up . All i have to do is not mixed the rows , Just make every row the same width . I was thinking of a off-set tile pattern , guess i'm just tired or retarded...

·
Registered
133 Posts
I installed this prefinished ash floor in random widths/lengths this last spring. I found that it does not look right when it is installed in a pattern. Random order looks best. Good luck!

Attachments

·
Dufus Extrodinaire
159 Posts
I installed this prefinished ash floor in random widths/lengths this last spring. I found that it does not look right when it is installed in a pattern. Random order looks best. Good luck!
I agree...the flooring is meant to be random in layout

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts