Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Relentless
Space Mining
4,736 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just had the crazy notion of using hourly pay for local work and salary for out of state. Give them a generous daily pay and work their bones off instead of worrying about overtime. I know, I'm terrible.

Anybody pay differently for different types of work?

@Kingcarpenter1

·
Super Moderator
11,065 Posts
Years ago, when we worked out of state, I would pay my employees overtime for all hours worked. I would also pay for their hotel stay, and provide lunch. They provided all of their own transportation, and their other meals.

·
1 on 2
Mason
2,880 Posts
I have no experience in it, but I would think a salary would get almost resented after too many 12-14 hour days in a row unless it beat what overtime would pay. You would almost have to pay straight time around the clock if you're planning long days. The guys can do the math (sometimes, lol).

Depends on the guys, too. Young and single vs. old, married, w/kids. Could be a welcomed adventure either way, now that I think about it...🤔

·
Registered
Remodel
35,588 Posts
I just had the crazy notion of using hourly pay for local work and salary for out of state. Give them a generous daily pay and work their bones off instead of worrying about overtime. I know, I'm terrible.

Anybody pay differently for different types of work?

@Kingcarpenter1
Good luck explaining that to any labor board. Doing that can get you into big dollar trouble, IMO.

·
Registered
479 Posts
... and then you have to register in the proposed state, more filings, employee stats income tax, yadda ..

If it's a short infrequent you can maybe risk being a gypsy... But if you start to have a presence you may need to rethink it ..

Once upon a time
...the old company I worked for had work all over the the country, and in other countries. But our main stay was NJ,NY, Ma, and CT.