Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi fellas,

I am a hard surface installer by trade and this is my first topic and i would appreciate any advice you can offer me.

I have a job coming up soon to install 1360 sf of the Wilsonart Estate Plus which I have never installed before. I have read the pdf's and also the Wilsonart installation guide and I did not find answers for all of my questions.

This job consists of 4 rooms in a daylight walkout basement on a 11 year old dry concrete slab. My customer purchased it thru me at Prosource and they sold her a generic blue foam underlayment. I will install a separate poly moisture layer and overlap and tape the joints.

Here are a few questions if you could help me.

1- Wilsonart calls for a 8-mil poly, I am having trouble locating an 8-mil. Where do you get it or can you double up a 4 or 6-mil to compensate?

2- Would I just be better off to exchange the underlayment for a 2in1 or 3in1 padding since I can't find the 8-mil poly?

3- Can you reverse directions without routing and splining this TAP-N-LOCK joinery system?

4- I noted in the instructions that I should not exceed 1040sf without a t-mold. I will be doing the trim out with new base and shoe molding. Can I allow plenty of expansion like 3/4" for movement without having to use a t-mold? The longest single run will be 38ft, and the total basement length is 54ft by 25'6". The doorways are 3ft wide.

5- lastly, Wilsonart shows a diagram of how to start the first 4 rows. I will do it that way but it seems to me that the floor will have a stair-step pattern doing it this way. What is your experience on using this layout?

Sorry for the length but I fret a lot about details and want the job to be done right. I know I can call Wilsonart but having a fellow installer's first hand experience is valuable to me.

Any advice would be appreciated. :Thumbs:

·
Flooring Guru