Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a plumber but am not as skilled in framing and construction so I wondered if I could get a little advise. I just had a 26X26 garage built and am already finding that I am running out of space. I have 12 a foot ceiling so I have decided to hang the wave runners from the ceiling and back the boat underneath them.. What you are looking at is still a prototype but it is close to what I will end at. There will be two of the wave runners, 450 pounds each, pictured side-by-side and the boat underneath. The weak point I worry about is the winch. It is a Harbor Freight special. It was $149 on sale for $79. It will supposedly lift 900 pounds, but will it hold it for 5 months?? I have heard some concern about the rafters sagging also, any ideas? Constructive criticism welcome...

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I'm really sorry but I see minimal construction here, just making code. I can't see the entire span, but it looks to be marginal for a 2X6.

Despite what most people think, you are not 'spreading the load' by crossing the crossties. The majority of the load is on the two adjacent trusses and they are barely holding the roof up.

Build a shed for the jetskis.

·
Custom Builder
4,406 Posts
Good plan strapping the hoist to the rat runners, but now brace the runner to the rafter cord, then set some fixed chains or straps so you can let the pressure off the hoist and just use the hoist for up and down.:Thumbs:

Bob

·
Registered
2,603 Posts