Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Head Grunt
213 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Comfortmaker RPJ II. It is probably more than 20 years old. Been working well as far as I can tell, but I'm just a carpenter.

Lately while it is heating, it emits this harmonic tone that can be heard throughout the house. (House isn't real big.)

The sound comes and goes, isn't constant. But I have absolutely no idea what could be causing it. And my wife thinks I should be able to figure it out.

Anyone ever run into this before? She is concerned that this could be a sign of it crapping out.

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
Fan bearings?

·
Professional Contractor
7 Posts
Noise

it's coming from the compressor, #1 check your piping going into the house if it's settled on a wall or a truss this will be the cause.
#2 check the rubber compressor mounts inside the outside unit, if it's a heat pump it will also have an accumulator rubber mount one centered and on the bottom check it.
Last you can have a discharge muffler installed on it however it will cost more than you should invest in a 20yr old unit, the noise comes from age internal parts worn inside the compressor.

·
Registered
151 Posts
The harmonic tone could be a vibration noise going through the entire ductwork. I would check the furnace blower wheel for being dirty and throwing it off balance, or maybe the furnace case needs some of those rubber pads where it sits on the floor? It does sound like it is coming from a moving part of some sort.

·
Registered
49 Posts