Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Focusing on solutions.
Hardwood floors/custom cabinets
5,649 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For the past 10 years, I've been pulling my trailers with F250's. Have yet to hook onto anything I can't pull. (within common sense) Currently pulling a 7x14 cargo with superduty diesel. I'd like to trade trucks & am thinking about downgrading to an F150. I have zero experience with half tons. How disappointed am I going to be with the downgrade?

I'm gonna sell my 18' trailer, which is the biggest thing I pull & buy a second 14'. Any experience on the subject would sure be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
As long as you use a little common sense an F-150 will serve you well. I used an extended cab as my work truck for 10 years and it never let me down.
I never tried to pull an 18 ft tool trailer with it, that would be a load, but I've got a 14 ft flatbed that I use to haul material (plywood, blocks, lumber) and it does the job.:thumbsup:

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
For the past 10 years, I've been pulling my trailers with F250's. Have yet to hook onto anything I can't pull. (within common sense) Currently pulling a 7x14 cargo with superduty diesel. I'd like to trade trucks & am thinking about downgrading to an F150. I have zero experience with half tons. How disappointed am I going to be with the downgrade?

I'm gonna sell my 18' trailer, which is the biggest thing I pull & buy a second 14'. Any experience on the subject would sure be appreciated.
The thing missing from your post is the weight of what you are pulling.

I have an f150 and an f250 both with the same motor in them. But does that mean anything the f250 can pull safely the f150 can pull just because they have the same motor? No.

When it comes to pulling you have to think about -

Motor
Tranny
Towing Package
Tongue Weight
Being able to stop