Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello my name is Vince and I am a custom cabinet maker/woodworker in Ny State.

I have a potential master bath renovation coming up that is located on the second floor of the home. It will be a total gut out.

Since I normally only do the cabinetry/millwork portions of a project,
my normal cabinetry /millwork contract states that I will take precautions to not cause damages however, I will will not be held liable for any minimal damage to paint, wall covering, or floors during installation.

Question: Who is generally responsible for minor damages to walls and floors of access areas leading to the room during a major renovation such as this?

The client wants a line added to my contract making me responsible before he signs.

If this were just a cabinet job I would not be concerned about the likelihood of damaging anything, however because of the nature of this project and the fact that subs will be used by both me and the homeowner (who is hiring his own tile guy and painter) the likelihood of minor damage is pretty high and might be created by his own subs.

Thoughts please.

Thanks

·
Registered
16,403 Posts

I have a potential master bath renovation coming up that is located on the second floor of the home. It will be a total gut out.

my normal cabinetry /millwork contract states that I will take precautions to not cause damages however, I will will not be held liable for any minimal damage to paint, wall covering, or floors during installation.

Question: Who is generally responsible for minor damages to walls and floors of access areas leading to the room during a major renovation such as this?

The client wants a line added to my contract making me responsible before he signs.