Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry for the amaturish question but I think contractors would be best to answer this, even though I am only a helper.

I have never worked in construction before. I only started about 3 months ago as an electrcians helper. The weather here is starting to become very hot.

The Journeyman electritian I work with most of the time (not the company owner) says I am supposed to bring the drinking water for each day.

The owner doesnt seem to want to get involved with such trivial matters.

Is the journeyman trying to take advantage of me? If it is indeed the custom for the helper to supply the icewater then I will find a way, even though I view the dollar a day for ice as thirty dollars a month I could spend on milk and food for my kid.

Thank you very much,

·
Registered
295 Posts
I would hope that the journeyman is only joking with you! It usually is every man for himself. If anybody is going to supply water or anything for other workers it should be the owner.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
I supply ice&water for my crews. We work in FL, it is an absolute requirement.
As for an employee suppyling it, I'm with Glass and the others. I like Bob's answer best, I didn't start at the top.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
my company provides water for each day. the foreman picks it up daily. it's an 'industry standard'. OSHA requirements follow:

1926.51(a)

"Potable water."

1926.51(a)(1)

An adequate supply of potable water shall be provided in all places of employment.

1926.51(a)(2)

Portable containers used to dispense drinking water shall be capable of being tightly closed, and equipped with a tap. Water shall not be dipped from containers.

1926.51(a)(3)

Any container used to distribute drinking water shall be clearly marked as to the nature of its contents and not used for any other purpose.

1926.51(a)(4)