Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
996 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am replacing 3 columns on a porch with 6x4 PT lumbar. I will be facing it with PVC. SHould they be jointed with a 45 miter ?

·
Registered
996 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well thanks for nothing

I didn't realise that the guys on here where so paranoid. I am a home owner that is true, but I am also a business owner, licensed and insured with about 3 years of property management under my belt. I am sure not alot compared to most on here.
I am sick of getting back advise from people I know in the trades who seem to send me in the wrong direction so I did a little searching and tried here.
I guess I will not ask any more questions until I have 9000 posts in then I will be a real contractor.

·
Registered
17,271 Posts
miters are not traditionally used on wood trim outside generally,moisture and movement tend to open the joint up over time

with the pvc the joints can be ''solvent welded'' and they will probably stay tight
just its not the traditional look that you may be trying to achieve

·
Registered
996 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks guys for all the advise, I think I am going to butt glue and nail. Although the Loneframers miters are very nice.:thumbup:

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts
Hey lone, whats the extra large cupola room going to be used for? The work looks great by the way. :thumbsup:
That is an observation tower overlooking the river and wetlands. There are a bunch of neat critters around, including Bald Eagles, Red Tailed Hawks and Osprey, as well as deer and turkey on a regular basis.:thumbsup:

Attachments

Reactions: Paulie

·
Maker of fine kindling
6,199 Posts
Is that where the announcer for the mosquito races sit come sun down?
I hear they actually have saddles and jockeys too. Any truth to that?

·
Registered
17,271 Posts
Gus you gotta come to N.J. sometime:thumbup: