Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any good video tutorials or write-ups on:
1) design basics?
2) ideas on how to walk the customer through so many options?
3) software (20-20) tutorials?

I got thrown into a position I wasn't quite prepared for. My background is in sales and marketing with some of that being in remodeling.

·
Designer/Contractor
5,412 Posts
Depends on your focus but a good design book is Home By Design by Sarah Susanka. All of her books are good.

·
Registered
1,744 Posts
Do you see yourself in this situation again? Find a good designer/ young architect. You and the customer can be given pro grade drAwings and construction documents while getting a project somebody has been trained to design.

If its just you for the duration you'll need to learn sketchup. You can very quickly get an idea of general massing and then go into some details without pulling your hair out.

Always start with the site. Sun path, access, views etc...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do you see yourself in this situation again? Find a good designer/ young architect. You and the customer can be given pro grade drAwings and construction documents while getting a project somebody has been trained to design.

If its just you for the duration you'll need to learn sketchup. You can very quickly get an idea of general massing and then go into some details without pulling your hair out.

Always start with the site. Sun path, access, views etc...
Where I said I was thrown into a position I meant I was given a new permanent job. I threw together a kitchen on 20-20 today for practice using materials the company I work for carries and feel pretty good about that.