Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a site development contractor that is having a house built by a local custom builder and I want to do some DIY air sealing before we close in with insulation & drywall.

My question is what areas are most important and will give me the best bang for my buck by using some spray foam & / or caulk. The builder will be taking care of any exterior penetrations.

thanks for your time. Would have hired a professional to do the air sealing but the wife spent that $$$ on light fixtures....

·
Box Builder
6,319 Posts
The time to deal with air leaks is in the framing process. If you are beyond this step already, then I would focus on mudsills, rim joists, plates. If you have rafter tails running through your sheathing, those need to be sealed too. There are so many spots. These are some of the worst.

·
Joseph A. Capece
1,811 Posts

·
Registered
7,365 Posts
I can say one thing, being conscious about air sealing has completely changed the way I look at every project from start to finish. Go into a properly air sealed home or a standard construction home and look at the thermostat. 70 deg is going to feel much different in a tight home than in a drafty one.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Air sealing....

Two "common" ways would be
Air tight drywall approach
Taped/sealed sheathing approach.

Insulating with dense pack cellulose, while not air sealing, eliminates to almost elmininates air movement in a wall.

You could hang interior sheathing as well, taped and seal then build a service cavity then rock as well.

I'm an electrician so take it for what it's worth.