Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a painting contractor in the Pacific Northwest. We are trying to increase the standards of professionalism throughout the painting industry. So what are the biggest pain points and what were the most impressive aspects of a painting company?

I have surveyed a few contrators and these were some of their responses:
1.) NO BABYSITTING! Contractors don't like to have to push their subs to get the job done right and on schedule. Obviously they shouldn't have to call a contractor and ask him where his guys are or why they're standing around.
2.)Get it done w/out complaints! Contractors hate change orders (especially oversights from the original bid). Also, contractors just want the job done -- paint on walls -- with as little headache as possible.
3.) Value -- Not just the lowest price, but the lowest price for the painter with the least amount of headaches.

I would love to hear about new innovations to professionalism in the industry. What are the biggest problems GC's have with painters, and secondly, how do I educate GC's about our solutions to those problems?

·
Super Moderator
11,936 Posts
No problems with my current painters, but past ones had a tough time showing up on time, and/or doing enough prep.

I consider the painters my last line of defense on every remodel job and respect good firms immensly. I am also willing to pay for it.

Since we remodelers usually rely on the painters to fix our always present nicks and scratches, (like the ones created when installing granite for example) I personally love when the painters just take care of those things. (within reason of course).

·
Super Moderator
11,936 Posts
JoshuaPaul,

I've got a question for you from a GC standpoint.