Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last night I asked what I thought was a legitimate question on biding labor for a cedar siding job that I was asked to quote.
All I was looking for was what people are paying or charging.
One of your "Professionals" on the site said that I must be a "home owner" looking to make sure the sub's don't make to much money and that GC’s hire sub’s, not are sub’s
Well here in my part of the world guys do both.
I have been a carpenter for 30+ years and have owned my own company for the past 13+ years. I do both General Contracting as well as sub- contracting.
I work for several “Real General Contractors”, five of them for that matter but none of them full time. I do my stuff but when I'm slow or between jobs I make a couple of calls and pick up anywhere from a few days to several months of work.

I don’t work for “Keyboard Professionals” or “Brief Case” GC’s, because they can talk-up (or type) a job but that’s about it.
Oh sure they sell a job or two and write a few checks but they couldn't build a dog house if they had to.
So no I won’t be going over to the DIY side of this forum.
Maybe you should ask some of the other “Professionals” to go instead

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
Da Boss said: