Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been doing remodeling for about 15 years and finally started my own small business. I do flooring installation of vinyl and hard surfaces(wood, tile , laminates and vinyl planking). Me and a friend started a partnership everything is 50 50 there but now we are left wondering what to save for all expences. We basically just split all earnings 3 ways. Me, him and the company. We are just wondering is that to much or to little?? And what should we be paying ourselves? And what to save to keep the company successful?

·
Owner/Installer
66 Posts
I own a flooring business in south jersey. I don't take a salary and spend whatever I have to on supplies. It sounds to me like you are ahead of the game splitting it like that. I think youre in good shape! Congrats on the start!

·
Registered
121 Posts
Pay yourself as much as you can but not to much where you pricing your work to high. It can be pretty darn hard to figure out if your to high in the general contracting business but if you stick to a certain trade like you do it should be fairly easy.

I think you should have a little better system than splitting the profits in thirds though...

Here is what I have learned to do. I'm still a new company....

First I figured what I wanted to get paid after taxes. I made it a bit more than I used to make when I worked for my previous employer in the same trade. I pay myself only for the labor I do on the jobs since I am a hands on contractor.

Then I estimated how much work my company would do for one year which is the Projected Job Costs - the total cost to complete jobs (what I get paid and other all job costs) Lets just say 100k for ease