Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have been pretty perturbed the las week over an issue with one of my employees. Here's the basic story and you can tell me if I'm right to be pissed.

So me and my dad are both contractors. My dad is a licensed plumber with his own business and I am a general contractor specializing in kitchen and bath remodels and custom tile work. Between the two of us we have a few as need helpers and one guy we keep busy full time. This guy has also been a friend of mine for quite a few years. Well last week he had someone at church (who we both know) ask him where he was working and he told them he worked for a plumber and a remodeler and she mentioned she wanted her bathroom remodeled. So instead of referring her to my business he decides to bid the job himself. He then spends the next week asking me a thousand questions about the job. He clearly isn't ready to take on a project like that with only one year of experience. I have held my tongue up to now. Then yesterday he told me he was going to see if my other part time employee wanted to help him with the job.

So I'm pissed that 1) he solicited his own work instead of mine to my client base essentially 2) that after sharing my trade secrets with him he is essentially competing with me in my field and 3) he threatens to take my other employees off into his own work.

Am I overreacting? I don't want to ruin a friendship but I'm pretty pissed he doesn't even realize that he is now a threat to the business I have worked hard to start.

·
Registered
261 Posts
man up and tell him what you just wrote here. He's testing you to see how much he can get away with. Next, he will be asking to borrow your truck/tools/etc

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts