Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a new business owner and would like to see how everyone handles billing and accepting payments. Do you use the old-fashioned way of printing an invoice, sending it through snail-mail and then receiving a check in the mail for payment? Or do you use a software program(s) to handle everything? If so, what do you use? Also, for processing Visa/Masterdcard, am I really going to have to pay anywhere from 1.85%-3% for every transaction?! Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
QuickBooks, picking up a check on completion (as it stipulates on our contract), CC payments done over the internet (we pay 2.2% on each transaction except AMEX which is higher). The only "invoices" I send are for other contractors who buy from me wholesale. I generate an invoice in QuickBooks and email it to them, and usually get their payment via snail mail.

·
Talking Head
5,388 Posts
Quickbooks. Invoices are either delivered by hand during the project or are emailed. They are typically sent two days before a progress payment is needed so the customer can have the funds available that day.

I take cc's via Paypal for smaller jobs and on larger jobs where the customer elects to pay with a cc and miss out on the cash or check discount of 3%.

·
Registered
819 Posts
with homeowners i ALWAYS collect a check or card before i leave the house...ALWAYS!!!...with larger jobs i explain -nothing down, but paid in full the day the job is complete.

with builders i mail them an invoice and typically get paid in 10-30 days...i do invoices nightly....i finish a job, the invoice is in the mailbox