Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Knight of Ni!
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a roofer and need a small, light weight circular saw that cuts siding. The one we have (7 1/4) is heavy, too big, and hard to get into small places. Primarily this is used on a re-roof where the siding is too close to the roof to properly flash for metal roofing.
Thanx, metalroofer.

·
Registered
6,858 Posts
metalroofer said:
I'm a roofer and need a small, light weight circular saw that cuts siding. The one we have (7 1/4) is heavy, too big, and hard to get into small places. Primarily this is used on a re-roof where the siding is too close to the roof to properly flash for metal roofing.
Thanx, metalroofer.
I have a small (I forget if it's 4" or 4 1/2") Porter-Cable circular saw, - - great little saw, lightweight, accurate, dependable, - - but actually, if I'm understanding your situation right, - - I would generally use a hand-held grinder with a diamond blade for that application, - - lighter yet and easier to 'see' where you're cutting, also less chance for 'shattering' cold siding.

·
Knight of Ni!
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, think we'll check on the light weight Porter Cable. You must have a steady hand. If I was to use a hand grinder the the result would look like a rats lunch for sure.

·
Knight of Ni!
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Glasshousebltr said:
Makita makes a little skill saw with a 2 or 3 inch blade. Great for cutting siding.

Bob
Hey Glass. Are you showin me a saw or are you just showin me around your place? Nice place BTW! :Thumbs: Met.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
Met, you're new. Most of us have seen where he lives. Hot tub full of sawdust and an old Commadore 64 on the bench to do his figgerin' on. The Smithsonian is after him for some of his tools, manly stuff, metal bodies and no 3 prong plugs for ol' Bob. zzzzzzzzttttt!

·
Knight of Ni!
93 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Teetorbilt said: