Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am new to this and learning everyday. I mainly do small handywork but a customer asked me an extremely odd question today and I want to get more information for him.

He had fascia soffit gutters and downspouts installed. I was there just for some new porch posts and carpet as he did not retain the previous guy.

The fascia board is 8 inches and they only installed 6 inches of aluminum facia and covered up the rest with the gutter. He asked me and I have never ever seen it that way. His concern and mine as well is that water will back up out of the gutters hit the wooden fascia board and rot it or freeze in the winter and mess things up.

Has anyone ever seen the fascia stop 2 inches short of the gutter apron like that?

Thanks in advance!!!!!

·
hack of all trades
1,144 Posts
So the aluminum stops short of the bottom edge of the fascia or it only covers the bottom? If it has an open seam facing up I would see that as a huge flaw and want something that will lead water outside and down. Sounds like a half assd installation, but stuff like that is done all the time so long as it looks fine to the customer on the ground.

·
Love me some Concrete
1,834 Posts
They make 6" and 8" Fascia, I am assuming that the wrong was installed and yes, it will cause problems.

You can use a metal brake and coil stock to bend a piece to cover the opening, slip under the drip edge and over fascia but I would just pull and install new correct size.

·
Registered
5,057 Posts
I've seen it done plenty and it's wrong.

Guys probably do it that way cause of material usage and only using 8" where you get 3 runs per piece of coil.

Dielectric, he's referring to the top being open since the gutter hides it. And yeah, water just runs in behind it...

·
water re-locater
7,511 Posts