Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Do company's avoid hiring ex contractors for fear of losing clients?

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Last year was a terrible year for me, things got slow on all fronts and I had a string of bad luck...

I've been Licensed for more than 8 years now and in the industry for 18, last year i had a Builder go under with 130k of my money after the owner bailed on the contract (and their building), we are still in the legal effort to recover so i wont discuss here, but that's not what I want to talk about.

I'm wondering what you think about the fact that it was next to impossible for me to find regular work. I'm a professional in my field, I've run 100+ crews in the past and managed to build out several great suites (American Express, Fox News, Teamsters union, Miss America, Yellowbook, Bank of America Etc., Etc.,) yet I couldn't get hired...

Finally a good friend of mine told me what had happend to him back in 1992, he said he went through the same thing, but realized that no company would hire him for fear that once he'd get back on his feet that he would start contracting again and possibly take some clients with him.

Makes sense I guess, so I stuck it out and I hope things turn around but I've burnt through cash like I was trying to keep from freezing and I've got legal bills, plus it's still cut throat out here, and so finding work still doesn't amount to much money... but the question is: Do company's avoid hiring ex Contractors for fear of them stealing their clients?

·
Banned
215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
But it's not like they need to train me, I could probably teach their people a thing or two.
(Not because I'm so smart, I just might have a different perspective... and it would be a managerial position, I wont go Grunt for someone else just yet)

·
Registered
3,005 Posts