Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

What vehicular navigation GPS do you use?

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
853 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Garmin Nuvi 205. Having one and not having one is a night and day difference.

I think I could get a higher end, but I'm thinking the gain is minimal. I was considering a different brand since I'm not really fond of Garmin's lack of showing upcoming cross street.

What about you guys?

·
Super Moderator
24,333 Posts
Wife has a Garmin & I have a Magellan. Both are way cool to have. They'll even spot the gas when we're out on the lake.

·
Dufus Extrodinaire
159 Posts
Garmin Nuvi - works great but the battery life needs to be longer!

·
Capra Aegagrus
Remodeler
24,738 Posts
I have a Nuvi 265 that I was given for Christmas. It's fun to use, and I'll admit that it's given me a couple of shortcuts now and then that I probably wouldn't have taken otherwise.

However, I have many years' experience with paper maps and sketchy verbal directions, so it's hard for me to see it as an essential tool. Quite the converse--get dependent on it, and when it breaks, you're liable to find yourself up the creek without a compass.

As for cross streets, the Garmin software seems fairly intelligent about that. If I'm cruising relatively slowly through a town or residential neighborhood, it does show every upcoming street/road. If I'm gobbling miles on an hour long trip on the interstate, it doesn't even bother showing the [irrelevant] exits I'm passing.

Why do you need to see upcoming cross streets that aren't on your route?

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
12,580 Posts
Garmin 1450. Shows cross streets on the screen, just doesn't announce them.

I also keep a map book in the van.

·
paper hanger,painter
916 Posts