Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Checking back in on my battery weed trimmer that I got last year.(bought one for my daughter too) So far it has done an excellent job. Batteries have kept their charges very well. Black and Decker 18 volt. Overall I would give it a 10. (For medium duty)

However, looking to buy a gasser. Miss the power to do some edging with it too. Thinking of Stihl. I've been using Stihl edger and blower for a few yrs now and they've fired up every time.

·
Registered
1,864 Posts
Echo is also good. I have had mine for 8 years with no problems. Take a couple of steps up from the low end model. I also have one of their PAS power heads that run a brush cutter, pole saw, edger, etc. Very happy with it too.

Don't think you can go wrong with Stihl either. Some of their equipment is still made in the USA. At least some of their chain saws.

·
Registered
541 Posts
Most Stihl chainsaws are made in Virginia Beach. A few professional models are made in Germany. A few models are made in Brazil, but they are not sold in the US because they are models that don't comply with US emissions requirements.

The rest of their equipment is more of a mixed bag. Some light duty landscaping equipment is made in China. Back in the 80s and 90s they made a lot of trimmers in Japan, but I think those models are now Chinese. The high end stuff is made in the US, but if it's important to you you should make sure to check.

·
Registered
4,662 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks. Would be buying from my local Stihl dealer. They also work on my trailers.

The 18 volt is kinda fun. Press the trigger and go. I have always had gas ones and just wanted to try one of those battery ones out.

·
Finishing Carpenter
1,332 Posts
We have an electric stihl trimmer. It works great, however I cannot run across the street and whack the weeds down at the empty drug gro-op house.