Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok so I am a landscape contractor and I want to do some waterproofing around my home. I have done several french drains, but never around a house. I am planning on doing a french drain w/ drain tile around the house and running all my gutters away from the house. I have water in my crawl space when it rains and it is damp when it is not raining. I have attached some paint sketches of the layout.

Do I need to backfill with gravel all the way down to the footer? Do I need to have the drain tile at the bottom of the footer? Do I need to have the french drain run in front of the garage slab and porch slab? What type of coating would you put on the foundation?

I think I am going to use some type of pvc for the drain tile, I really don't have much respect for the corrugated pipe any more... at least in the 4" size. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Do I need to backfill with gravel all the way down to the footer? Do I need to have the drain tile at the bottom of the footer? Do I need to have the french drain run in front of the garage slab and porch slab? What type of coating would you put on the foundation?
Depends upon where you live. Check your local codes. The reason for gravel around the foundation is to prevent frost heave. Is your foundation insulated? If so, what type of insulation is it and is it just vertical or do you have both vertical and horizontal insulation? The key thing is keeping water AWAY from the foundation. God forbid it should wash out the soil under your foundation

I think I am going to use some type of pvc for the drain tile, I really don't have much respect for the corrugated pipe any more... at least in the 4" size. Any help would be appreciated.