Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I beg all of you to help me and hope you will understand my problem, even though I'm no pro. Our painter, coming on Monday, told us we could "save some money" by taking DIF and a paper tiger and taking off our wallpaper before he came. Well, I'm scared to death now because I am down to some cardboard colored paper and underneath that is plaster or drywall (and even some of that plaster is getting chipped up) Is this right? Are we supposed to go all the way to the drywall?
Please email me at [email protected] because I put a message on our guy's voice mail and he has not answered yet. We are paying him big bucks but I'm scared to do more damage to our walls. Or is it okay to go all the way to the white plaster or drywall. Help!

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
jcorn59483 said:
First time I've ever seen someone offer an e-mail address link on their first post. Hmmmmm? Jcorn - we all benefit from this 'open air' forum of questions and answers. Keep checking back for responses.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
At this point I would say let you painter call the shots. You tried to save a few bucks and wound up with your butt in the grinder. If you would have let the pro do it, he would have done it right or dealt with it. As it is, he has to deal with a homeowners foulup.
Have you learned anything?
I use a computer guy to fix my computers. I'm a remodler but don't do roofing, I use roofers. Starting to get my drift?

·
Back from the dead...
6,646 Posts
Jcorn - we all benefit from this 'open air' forum of questions and answers. Keep checking back for responses.
I agree.