Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'v got a potential client who wants to build a duplex with me as the GC but wants to do all of the work himself. In other words he wants me to pimp out my license. My W/C only covers my guys of course and any subs I use have to show proof of having W/C or they don't work on my jobs.

I considered having him to take out a WC policy thus making him a legit sub. But I don't know if he can even get W/C for one job.
I also considering having him sign a waiver releasing me of any liability or warrantee on the work that they do. I'd still be responsible for making sure that all the work is up to code and that the areas that require licensed trades, elec., plumbing, HVAC, etc. are done by qualified tradesmen.

I'm still fairly new at the GC end of this thing and the thought of making money on a job without so much as bringing a hammer to work is tempting.

I am still concerned at the legal aspects of him taking the responsibility for job safety. If he would have an accident and some one get hurt, would I be covered under the waiver that he signed? I know a lot of it would depend on how it all was worded. There would have to be a lawyer involved in writing it all up. I'd probably have to check with my GL insurance agent too.

I really don't think the guy is trying to scam me. I think he's just an old simi-retired construction worker who is trying to save money building his retirement plan. He is also considering a second duplex in the future if this one
is profitable.
I could sure use the work, but not to the point that I'd hang my ass out there for him.

I'm sure that some of you have had a similar situation. I'd love to hear your input. Thanks
Steve

·
Pompass Ass
2,090 Posts