Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

curious what people would bid or are curently bidding for laying sheet vinyl floors. I have a potential customer who wants two bathrooms done. They currently have crappy textured vinyl tiles on one and old sheet vinyl on the other now. There are a couple of odd corners around cabinets and walls. I would be salvaging the baseboard most likely. The bathrooms are 6 x 12 and 6 x 8. There are no pipes through the floor, only a toilet in each to remove.

I'm fairly new at this. Laid it a couple times in simple square rooms, but any advice on how to bid for it, installation tips, or the best floor float to use over the old textured vinyl that I would be laying the new on would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot. Glad I found this forum. Glad it's here.

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
First off, you need to find out EXACTLY what is existing.
one sheet existing?
what is the underlayment?
cove base or wood molding?
standard toilet?

Let me know those things and I will walk you thru it

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well, my biggest question is wether people are charging by the square foot for the laying and if so at what going rate. I was simply considering charging an hourly rate for prep such as removal of the oak baseboards, toilet and possibly for floor float if that is possible.

As far as how many existing layers I know that there are at least two layers and I suspect them to be on the subfloor. The floor seems solid. Now that you mention it, I should check closer to see if there is an underlayment that could be easily pulled up? I was simply expecting to be able to float the existing floors so the texture doesn't telegraph through and then place the new floor over those? Is this not a good idea?

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
Do not lay over 2 layers.