Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie to this site. I'm 34 years old and have been on my own doing (mostly) remodels, additions and alot of flooring for about 3 years now. I've been in construction (doing mostly remodels) for about 7 years. The question I have is actually about my own house. I bought our (wife and 4 kids) house 4 years ago and last winter I had a huge ice dam on the sunroom that is on the front of the house (ranch house w/ 5- 12 pitch roof. The house has a basic attic and dont have an ice problem on the rest of the house but every winter I have an ice dam on the sunroom (the room is about 8 feet deep and 13 feet wide and was an addition to the front of the ranch). It's kind of a unique room that is right off the living room and sits about 2 feet below the rest of the house w/ steps going down and a 6' wide by 7' high opening. It has cathedral ceilings w/ 3 skylights that are only about 2' from the drip edge on the front of the sunroom.
When I had the ice dam last winter water came in all over on the front of the sunroom- mostly ran down the drywall and came in through the casing on the top of the 10' wide window in the front of the room and I also know the skylights were flashed wrong and the new roof (it was replaced right before I bought the house) was installed w/ the shingles not over hanging the drip edge!
I thought what caused the ice dam was the lack of venting in the soffit on the front of the sunroom. When I tore all the drywall out they did put in vent baffles before they insulated but never vented the soffit so I assumed this was the problem until we just got pounded this last weekend w/ snow.