Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
#1 stunner
576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went to bid a remodeling job with the plumbing already roughed in 13 years ago. There is a toilet flange and on down a drainage hooked up for the vanity sink which is a 2" line. On out roughly 6' or so there is a 1 1/2" pvc pipe for the shower.

My problem is this is in the basement and there is no way to vent any of the plumbing with out doing a wet vent (which I want) or coming out the rim joist then going out the side of the house which I rather not do because of looks.

I was thinking about using something as an air admittance valve but I have never used one before are they prone to failure? would one work well for both the shower, vanity, and toilet or would I need 2? I gotta work up the bid then if they accept my bid I will be calling my plumber to check out the 13 year old plumbing as I don't want to warranty anything I didn't install.

Im up for ideas, here are a couple of pics to get an idea.

link to the valve http://www.oatey.com/apps/catalog/instance_assets/assets/Submittal_Sheet/6DFU.pdf

Sorry for the crappy camera phone pics.

·
Registered
16,403 Posts
I have used AAV's/Durgo's hundreds of times in the UK. In fact almost every trap comes with one installed. The ones on the traps ain't the best but they work but i don't think i have ever seen them over here anyways but the type you show in your link are fine. The problem is with code and do they allow them. AAV's work very well and you mostly only ever need one vent to atmosphere preferably at end of run but many codes say otherwise. Like the house across the road from me with 10 vents sticking out of the roof? :w00t: As you should know they are only designed to let air in not out so if water does ever back up in the system the water wont come out of the AAV. It will be coming out of the fixtures long before it would come out of the AAV.

·
Designer/Contractor