Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new here and tried to post in the introductions. Not sure if this will go through either. I'm on an iPhone. I have already read the structural thread and have set up a meeting with an engineer. My question is:
I have framed a vaulted ceiling/roof over part of a new constructed house. Vaulted area is 18'x32'. Rafter span is 16'. Ridge beam span is 18'. Rafters are 2x10 yellow pine. Ridge beam is 2ply 16" lvl with 4 nails every 16". Collar ties will be directly bellow the ridge beam. 2x6 exterior walls through out. Question is rather or not the beam is adequate. Haven't took any braces down yet. Don't want too till I talk to engineer. Opinions are greatly appreciated

·
Super Moderator
10,674 Posts
How did you determine the size of the ridge? I have never used a microlam before on a ridge, unless the engineer spec'd it first. The rafter span is a little iffy as well for a 2x10.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, as far as the ridge, I went with some advice from a more seasoned source. I was told a 2ply 12" lvl ridge "should" do the job. Should isn't enough for me so I ordered 16"ers. I have seen 2x10s rafters spanned further. Snow load is 15#. Rafters are 16" oc. There are also two dormers equally spaced in the front half to let more light in. Doubled 2x10's under each dormer wall. They aren't too big. If I knew how to post a pic with an iPhone I would. Ridge beam is prolly 5-6" taller than plumb cut of rafters. This was not supposed to be a part of this house and was changed last minute

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·