Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a basement drywall ceiling that needs finished on a trim out I started today. I'll be finishing it but there is no way I'm sanding overhead. I have been kicking around the idea of a power sander for a while.

I checkout out the PC and Festool online but as I'm a carpenter and finish occasionally 1700 is a bit much for part time use.
I stopped at the local rental yard and they said they would sell me the PC sander for $200 and a PC Vac for another 200. Is it worth $400 for a used machine. Price sounds good to me, What do you pros recommend?

Thanks, Matt

·
Registered
4,732 Posts
Rent it once and find out... See if they'd apply the rent to the purchase

I love mine, and wouldn't sell it for any less than that

Reactions: Burns-Built

·
Registered
2,910 Posts
Burns-Built said:
I have a basement drywall ceiling that needs finished on a trim out I started today. I'll be finishing it but there is no way I'm sanding overhead. I have been kicking around the idea of a power sander for a while. I checkout out the PC and Festool online but as I'm a carpenter and finish occasionally 1700 is a bit much for part time use. I stopped at the local rental yard and they said they would sell me the PC sander for $200 and a PC Vac for another 200. Is it worth $400 for a used machine. Price sounds good to me, What do you pros recommend? Thanks, Matt
That's what I paid for mine about 6 years ago. I was iffy if it was worth the cost at the time. It has made me tons of money. No dust. People are thrilled not to have dust all though thier house.

I would offer $300 cash for the set up. See what he says. Then after your done u could always resell it.

I looked hard st the festool. But in the end I went with the PC. I only do drywall a couple times a year and i already had the vac.

·
Registered
641 Posts