Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I know this is a forum for professionals and admittedly I am not one, but please keep reading. I am a student at Johns Hopkins and part of engineers without borders (google it for info). Our project is to help creating a weir and tank pump system to help provide clean water to the village of Chicorral Guatemala. Currently they must traverse a 100m ravine that is steep and danerous in order to get water from a stream. Whats worse is that the women and children usually end up getting the water because the men have to go work.
That said, I am part of the team that designed the foundation that will hold the top tnk (it weighs more than 6000kg). I have to write up construction plans and was wondering if you could critique them. Essentially we are creating a slab on grade foundation the is 1mx1mx.2m (3'x3'x8" more or less). From the slab 4 1m columns will portrude to be the corners of cinderblock structure (imainae four cinderblock walls making a sqaure except tha the corners are concrete). I Have attached a diagram of the structure

Also my design for the column forms are based on this:
tpub.com/content/construction/14043/css/14043_177.htm

My questions are:

1-Dos it matter how deep we di as long as we get rid of the topsoil?
2-Should i put sand down as a base layer if we dont have acces to mechanical compacting machines
3-Will my forms for the columns hold up?
4-How do I cure the columns?

please also look for problems in the construction plan
THANKS ALOT, you are really helping people out who need it because if we don't pass the tech inspection these people will have to wait longer for water

p.s. I know I sound like an idiot in that post, but don't judge me; I'm sick, tired, have a sprained wrist, and have been working all day on a Saturday haha.

View attachment Top Tank Construction Plan.doc