Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a residential contractor in southern Indiana. Right now I have a Deere CT322 skid steer and a Cat 302.5 mini ex. In the next year I would like to either add a good used backhoe to the fleet or upgrade the mini ex to a 8,500 pound mini. Right now I use the mini to dig house footings and sewer taps/ water taps. I only put around 200 hours a year on the machines I have now. I need some opinions from those who have more experience with backhoes vs. excavators.

Thanks

·
Registered
76 Posts
Being in the same situation (CT322 and Kubota KX91-3) I can understand your needs. In my situation I will be adding a 11,000 pound machine. That should give the lifting and digging ability needed.

·
Captain of the Titanic
708 Posts
For the most part the excavators (mini's on up) and skid steers have replace tractor backhoes altogether.

The only use we have for our backhoe now is when we do road maintainence in a large subdivision it provides the abiliity to pick up and travel around without having to deal with a trailer load up but except for that, the backhoe rarely leaves the yard.

So I would suggest getting the larger mini unless you feel the need to have a larger loader type of piece of equipment as opposed to the skiddy.

·
Contractor
7,725 Posts
I have not used my backhoe in months.

I do have an 11,000 lb mini ex and it is just so much more versatile as a digger.

Unless I need the greater strength or digging depth of the Case 580, it is just a yard dog.

·
Registered
219 Posts
I agree with the above, I started on my own 3 years ago with a tlb. If I could do it over, I would never have bought a backhoe. A backhoe is like swiss army knife, can do alot of things just not very well. stick with the mini idea.

·
Registered
272 Posts