Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
12,611 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I'll admit it..... I'm just a dumb electrician. But I'm cutting down a tree for a good friend only because things are slow and I have a chainsaw.

I'm at a loss as to what to charge.

Tree is two minor trunks about 12" diameter each, which had split off from the rest of the tree and were leaning at a 30° angle on another tree. All this person wants is to bring it on down so it doesn't fall on someone, cut it up and place it all by the alley for anyone who wants firewood.

No overhead utilities or structures to worry about. Just curious as to what a fair price would be.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
TREE - fiddy is probably what most folks on here would charge, give or take.

I just had 2 huge willow trees completely taken apart and it cost 1500 dollars. That being said I have a couple chainsaws and I wouldn't have done it for that little.

·
Insert title
4,692 Posts
I've hired 3 different companies to clear trees from my property in the past and it ranged from $300-$800 per tree if my memory is correct.

A couple things to clear up before you start;

1. What is happening to all of the useless limb wood and leaves?

2. Who is cleaning up the yard?

3. The stump, does he expect you to grind it or cut it as low to the ground as you can?

4. If you do have to grind it, who is cleaning up that mess and will the pit be filled with soil?

5. What happens when the neighbors complain about the pile of wood in the alley that is attracting bugs?