Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Contractor
4,763 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
in an area where traffic will need to be opened after 24hrs, what you used to protect the floor and allow the solvents to continue to burn out? When blocking off access for 3-7 days to allow the final coat of poly to cure to sufficiently, will rosin paper/kraft paper, a layer of luan, painters drop cloth or some other means of protection help to allow the curing to take place?

·
Registered
5,425 Posts
I would be concerned about going with oils and covering them. I am no expert but i think during the curing process coating need to breath. There are some very high quality water based finishes that i would consider, GMOD.

·
Focusing on solutions.
Hardwood floors/custom cabinets
5,785 Posts
On new const, as a rule, I ask the contractor to be down to final, final finish in the areas I laid new floor before I put the top coat on. Light scratches will cover with the next coat, I'm going to sandscreen anyhow before final coat. Depending on the contractor, most use kraft paper & painters tarps. Kraft paper covering entire floor, taped at every seem with painters tarps on top. Some use luan or cardboard in the high traffic areas on top of the kraft paper. I've never had a failure or callback using this system & I finish the majority of my floors with oil.

·
Contractor
4,763 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
WB poly is rapidly becoming the choice of materials.
because of the dry time?

recently I noticed a Minwax 'super fast drying' floor poly. Has anyone used/heard of it? the literature claims recoat in 3-4 and dry time in 12-18hrs. I use to think the longer the better, but with today's scientific approach to improving the chemistry of materials....maybe it is better

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Search the net as there's a lot of info out there. Very little negative for WB.