Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Theological Carpenter
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm working on a job, and a new tile shower is going into the master. It has two 36" sides and a 60" back. The 36" side without the plumbing is over a 24" pocket door. There's a 1/4" of plywood over the pocket door frame and the wall framing, and then the substrate (we're using the wedi system). The tile hasn't been installed yet, but the door frame still moves.

My question is if that pocket door and the flex inherent in the wall is going to present problems down the road. I am not too experienced with tile, and the tile guy says it will be no problem, that the substrate and tile will stiffen it up. The old tile shower was installed over the pocket door, but they used an 1 1/2 of mortar and it was solid as heck. (It was just a small bathroom but we filled up two small dumpsters from all the tearout!) Have any of you installed tile over pocket doors before?

I want things to be done right for our customers and I've learned to ask questions when I have a bad feeling about something - but I also don't want to make myself a pain in the butt by arguing with people who have more experience than me.

·
Registered
11,466 Posts
You could glue some ply into the pocket between the metal studs. Then screw it tight from the outside with screws that have a bare shank >= wall thickeness (that's what pulls it tight). If your screws are too long for the pocket, just remove them after the glue is dry. If the screw head is going to sink into the wall, use a finish washer or fender washer temporarily.

·
Theological Carpenter
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The CDX idea is good, but won't work in this bathroom. The idea of putting ply in the pocket is a really good idea that I think I'll try.

Reactions: mikeswoods

·
Registered
2,643 Posts