Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok everyone. I am in need of a new tile saw. Long story short I had a 7 inch ridgid wet tile saw, took **** in the middle of a bathroom remodel. Tile floor and 6x6 tile shower. Needless to say I had to buy something asap to finish the job. I ended up at lowes and got the 10 inch wet saw. Well I ened up returning it as I believe the shaft was bent and the blade was wobbling up to 1/8.

So now here i sit with no saw and tile jobs coming up. What are you guys using and recommendations? I'm a general contractor that likes to do alot of his own work and probably only use on a dozen jobs a year.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
GC
146 Posts
I have the top of the like Ridged, for the exact same reason as the one you just bought. It's ok on tile up to 8x8, but beyond that it just isn't accurate enough. I've spent hours trying to get the damn thing to cut square, it just won't do it. It's always off a 1/16 or so. Don't even bother trying to adjust the laser guide, I think they they stuck it on just to **** with us as the adjustment is so sloppy as to be useless.
I also have a 40 year old MK that's dead on, every cut is perfectly square. It weighs about 150 pounds and won't cut anything bigger that 12x12. It doesn't get much use.

I here the Dewalt is pretty good, around $900. Most reviews I've seen say it's right on straight out of the box with a solid table and no blade wobble.

·
3 Jacks 2 Nines
424 Posts
mk is solid... I picked a used one up for $300 on craigslist 15 years ago that never let me down... loaned it to a client and it's dead...

I don't do much tile either, but I splurged on this guy...

Rubi DC 250-1200 48" Rail Saw

80-00393-2.jpg

for three reasons...

1. I can use it to cut a miter.

2. It can cut the really large format tile that is super popular right now.