Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have just started doing tile inlay by hand, I am an artist, as are all tile layers, but all these are my own artwork / designs.
I dont have any experience in waterjet, or the pricing of waterjet design, so my question is this...
A. is there a market out there for this kind of stuff?
B. does anyone know what it cost's to have something like this cut into stone or ceramic Tile?

Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,716 Posts
Nice stuff, I suggest you take your query as well to Johnbridge.com there are others there who do similar stuff and may even be some people who could spread your name around.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nice stuff, I suggest you take your query as well to Johnbridge.com there are others there who do similar stuff and may even be some people who could spread your name around.

Thanks, I appreciate your advice.

·
Registered
2,836 Posts
Heck yes there is a market for this stuff.

I have no idea what it costs to produce. If you are producing it, you should have a better idea. I would market custom or insets ready to go.

I remember eating at a fish restaurant and they had a big mural of poseidon on the wall which was very nice. I wouldn't be surprised if people pay over $5,000 for a large wall mural.

·
Carpe Diem
20,742 Posts
Yep. I agree. Having the option of an inlay is one more design option.
When I was at Coverings this year, I didn't notice anything like that (although there may have been a booth that I missed). The closest thing I saw was an Israeli company that would reproduce a photograph onto mosaic tile. I thought the cost was very reasonable too but there may have been a cost issue if they had to import.
I even bought myself a small wet band saw last year for the option of doing inlays with back splashes.