Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Hi,

Chris of Tile Excellence. I just wanted to introduce myself. I have never joined a blog, barely have time to write on my own company blog. My marketing person told me this was a great site.

I'm from the south-Georgia-and I've been laying tile for over 30 years. I learned masonry from building free standing stone walls with my grandfather. I learned the value of a hard day's work, and i was grateful I could work at something that would speak long after I was gone. I was also grateful later on that I had such skills so I could make a living when others struggled in tough times. I can't tell you how many grateful masons I put to work during the 80's in Atlanta during the Olympic preparations-I literally tiled every floor in many of their hotels.

I believe in hard work. I believe in honesty and quality, and I like to help people as much as possible. I am the most reasonably priced tile installer North of Boston, and that's because I don't have much overhead and I do all the work myself. But I've had both hips replaced, and my knees are in rough shape. My elderly parents need help in FL, and I thought about semi-retirement, maybe repairing pool tile. It's good money and easy work, but I found you can't repair the tile in pools in FL without a license. I could continue working here in MA for several more years-I actually move through work like crazy,as well as I did when I was much younger, but trying to keep options open. I don't like the direction small businesses, esp. skilled labor is going in terms of technology and the unethical practices I've seen in the last couple of years. Maybe I'm just getting old. I could do something else though if I made decent money. I've had some ideas suggested lately and I'm not saying "no" I'm thinking.