Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I am a contractor from BC, my trade is carpentry and don't generally do tile work. Although, as a favor to my parents I end up doing any work that is needed for their house. So, I have done a couple back-splashes and a floor before. I am now working on a basement bathroom/den area. The bathroom has a drain in the middle of the floor (concrete). My own house has the same thing but whoever laid the tile did a terrible job and it looks like ass and has no slope. I hoping to be able to do something a little better here. The actually concrete has only about 6" sq. (not 6" of slope just 6" of area) of slope to the drain, I have seen some tile guys do some things like cutting the tiles on a diagonal. At this point i don't know how exactly my tile will line up to the actual drain. If it is in the middle of a tile i could just cut diagonally from the corners... If it is split between two tile i guess i could do the same thing. So, I guess i answered my question, but i will post this anyways cause i typed it and perhaps a better idea will come along, although i am doing it in a couple hours so i will check back in a bit. Thanks

·
Fisherman
71 Posts
I guess sometimes it just helps to talk it through. :laughing:

Just a thought, do you ever get sewer smell in the bathroom? Sounds like a seldom used trap. I wonder if they have a trap primer in it.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Related question - I'm tiling a basement laundry floor that includes a floor drain with a 10" cover. The cover currently sits flush with the floor, but won't be once the tile goes in. Nobody I've talked to seems to have an answer for how to make it fit flush when the tile is done. I'm thinking there should be some kind of a collar that would fit in the existing drain and provide a new seat for the drain cover. Or I could try to create something... Suggestions?

·