Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to this forum and I just have a project I am struggling with in the planning phase.

I have 3 tiered walls I need to build. The existing retaining wall made of railroad ties is degrading and about to fall over. Customer insists on segmental retaining wall but I have no experience in building them whatsoever. There is not enough space to maintain the 2-1 rule in between the walls. Lowest wall will be 3.5 ft. middle is about 2 ft. and the top wall is an existing solid concrete wall.

I plan to use Nicolock ALTA segmental blocks. I will use geogrid because the second wall is SLIGHTLY under the 2:1 rule (is geogrid even necessary?) Is this wall going to last and are semental blocks a solid option for this project? The alternative would be solid poured concrete blocks with rebars ect.

Thanks!

Attachments

·
On time. On budget.
7 Posts
Thorough investigation

I see in your photos, that a thorough investigation should be undertaken prior to any works(including pre-removal of materials)
1) small test holes augered or hand dug(1 shovel wide) just below the upper concrete block wall.(each end and probably center) To a depth to competent native material, - Rock, gravel, non-disturbed compact glacial till, un-disturbed compacted sands/silts.
2) also the same in each of the terraces (each end and probably center)
3) an evaluation of what is behind the cement blocks, the bearing load, the past history of what preparation was done before any construction work was done for this block wall and what-is-behind-it??? This is a wildcard that needs to be taken into the equation.
4) water drainage ;
a) upslope of the area and the home
b) ditches & culverts upslope of the home
c) home roof, patio and basement drainage and water discharge points AND any possible ground over-saturation from these points.