Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
WorldsCoolestExterminator
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What are your thoughts on paying a consultant business/marketing advice? What areas are most needed for a consultant? What part of your business could a consultant help with?

I feel like they have a place but with so much free information, I don't know if the time saved is worth the money traded. OTOH, I've never tried it so maybe they provide enough value that they actually pay you to work. Ex: If a consultant could provide $100,000 in sales for $10,000 then it's a no brainer.

Your thoughts:

·
Talking Head
5,388 Posts
I've had some experience with consultants. My feeling is that people usually only hire the consultants that tell them what they want to hear so you're really paying for someone to pressure you to do what you already know you need to do. That's an oversimplification, of course. Some consultants can draw on previous experience with people in your line of work to help you meet more accurate benchmarks.

Either of those scenarios can be helpful but you need to actually be committed to the change. You might find a peer business group, such as a Mastermind or S.C.O.R.E group, just as effective and a whole lot cheaper

·
WorldsCoolestExterminator
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've heard a lot about consulting and my first reaction is 'no way, do it yourself'. But then I kinda get the voice in the back of my head that says, we tell clients 'don't do it yourself, get a professional' and then we do the opposite.