I own stock in FotoMat!
12,676 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
1,443 Posts
exterior spray painting I will cut your lowest bid in half

http://desmoines.craigslist.org/sks/4479960771.html

"I offer exterior spray painting services. Certified painter with 23 years experience. I will cut your lowest bid in half. "
I am sure that the people who hire this guy will get the kind of contractor they deserve. And he will get the kinds of folks that fall for this advertising.

On another note, I just got through doing our new vehicle graphics. No mention of Free Estimates, Discounts, Low Price or anything regarding pricing and estimates.

·
Registered
585 Posts
I'm so cheap! Cheapest guy around! You should hire me because I don't care about my standard of living, I'm just a painter! Who needs to bring home more than $15 an hour? Not me! Everyone else is just greedy!

Disclaimer:

You may have to pay someone real money to fix my mess. I also have no pride in my work nor do I care about quality.

·
Registered
1,443 Posts
Maybe the guy just quotes labor and has the client buy all the materials. He may not even quote any prep work either. Just trying to give him the benefit of the doubt.

He gets his foot in the door, then the prices go up from there.

·
Registered
4,048 Posts
That happens a lot around here. So many customers ask me for full material list in estimate. I know full well what they are doing. I normally figure out a price in 10mins after i get home for these special people lol.
I get this all the time to, could you break down all the small connectors and everything I will need to make this system work. Sure I will get right on it so you can have a complete parts list and head to the store.

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
I get this all the time to, could you break down all the small connectors and everything I will need to make this system work. Sure I will get right on it so you can have a complete parts list and head to the store.