Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

I've been a fence installer for the past few years and I enjoy what I do, but I want "more". My boss is a great guy, but something tells me it's time to take the plunge and start a business of my own.

I've been thinking about it for a long time and I'm on the fence (no pun intended) about starting my own fence business.

I know being a business owner is definitely a tough thing to do, but I feel ready for it!

My questions is: To all the fence business owners out there or those that know the biz well enough, what are the biggest problems/ challenges for you?

I'm curious because depending on what I hear, I might want to learn more while I'm still an employee before I make the commitment to get started on my own.

I'm glad to be hear, everyone is so helpful.

Thanks guys for your help,
Derek

·
Registered
121 Posts
Not sure if you are wanting to learn more about fence building or about the business aspect of things. Probably you are referring to the business side of it since I imagine once you build fences for while you should be good to go in most cases.

I would suggest going to Amazon and getting the Markup & Profit. After you read it you will understand much more about pricing jobs correctly and running a business. You will probably consider it one of the smartest business learning experiences you could have given yourself.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
SailingandSuch,

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I heard about that book, I will definitely check it out.

I want to know more of the business-side of things since I do want to start my own fence business.

I just keep hearing of the "nightmares" of the industry from my current boss such as being underbid all the time, difficulty of finding leads...