Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In Jersey. I have 5 yrs experience as a cabinet installer and i'm very good at high end crown molding but the guy in the union told me it's good that i have a skill like that but those type of union jobs pay less than industrial jobs. I've only done sheetrock a few times(don't have a problem with it)i've never done ceilings,doors or concrete columms so he said if he sent me to take the journeymans test,i may not do too good with those things. How hard are these columms and how can i learn this stuff before joining the union? I want to make sure i know what to expect on the test and not just go there and chance failing it thinking i can do better than 1st yr apprentice. I want to get in at least 2nd and possibably 3rd yr apprentice but journeyman if possible. I am fast at learning hands on but i will not learn from a book. thank you

·
Registered
206 Posts
Move south. No union, pay is better for skilled labor and the weather is a hell of a lot warmer. Skilled tradesman do very well, if they can prove they are good. A GC will always take care of the better ones.

·
Registered
8,573 Posts
Unions, in Chicago, are ONLY good if you plan on doing new construction. I prefer to not do new construction.

You can find reputable companies willing to pay slightly less than union wage, but keep in mind that you have to pay union dues etc... and in reality most consumers don't care about unions or not.

From the point of view of an installer... If I were still an installer full time; I'd probably be in the union. Since I am not management; I have a very low opinion of the UNIONS, not the union workers.

IMO, unions breed laziness and artificially inflate the customer's costs. At the same time there is alot of redtape which eliminates the flexibility of a company to service the customers.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
pondman said: