Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do exclusively finish carpentry on new homes, and work with my 22 yr old son. When I was 14 I cut off part of 3 fingers on my right hand on a log splitter. Two of them more than halfway.

I have been trimming houses for 20 years, and have been very fortunate with no major accidents with saws. That being said, now that I have my son working with me and I'm short on fingers myself :). I'm thinking about getting one of the smaller Sawstop brand table saws with the job site cart/stand.

Has anyone else been using this saw for job site use and can you give me any advice weather it's too heavy for moving from job to job and the quality of the saw. I work out of a trailer with a ramp.
We have been using the portable Bosch saw.
Thanks.

·
Hair Splitter
18,330 Posts
250+lbs for a contractor saw? No thanks. But I understand wanting to protect your loved ones from suffering the same fate as you have. Accidents happen, but are preventable. This is just one more step in preventing them. I just don't like the idea of getting comfortable around a table saw.

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Saw stop makes a smaller job site saw. It is still, but it does not weigh 250 lbs.
Size wise it would be comparable to the Bosche.

·
Hair Splitter
18,330 Posts
Saw stop makes a smaller job site saw. It is still, but it does not weigh 250 lbs.
The Bosch weighs 133lbs (shipping weight).

The only contractor saw on their site weighs 225lbs without the 30" fence or the mobile cart which is 50lbs.

What model are you looking at?

http://www.sawstop.com/support/product-comparison

·
Always Learning
8,654 Posts