Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to airless sprayers (though I have experience painting cars with HVLP and murals with an airbrush). I just bought a Graco TW170 for two jobs. One is an exterior job involving painting a gazebo with 4x4 posts, and another in interior painting door/window moulding and floor trim. Exterior job is using BM latex paint and interior job using SW PC. Recommended tip sizes on cans are .15 and .17 respectively. However, I have a graco 211 tip (to get a 4 inch spray). I know using too thick of paint can blow out a tip. Can I thin down the the BM and SW paints to shoot through a .011 tip? If so, by how much? Thoughts or suggestions?

·
Registered
3,439 Posts
Sure, I think generally you shouldn't exceed 1 pint per gal. But you're probably fine not even thinning it depending on the product. Just don't make it water thin. That's just my opinion.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I've almost never had, or heard of, a good reason to thin for an airless. That's kinda the whole point of an airless, they shoot straight paint.

Most newer latex paints don't recommend thinning at all, or say its unnecessary.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've almost never had, or heard of, a good reason to thin for an airless. That's kinda the whole point of an airless, they shoot straight paint.

Most newer latex paints don't recommend thinning at all, or say its unnecessary.
Thanks for the reply. So is it ok then to shoot a paint that is rated for a larger opening, .015-.017, thru a tip that is only .011? I had heard from a graco rep that using too thick of paint thru a smaller tip can blow the tip out. I was wondering what those that paint trim/casing with a 210-212 sized tip do to their paint if the tip is out of spec with what is recommended on the paint cans.

·
Registered
3,439 Posts