Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I am now in my second year of using Service Magic, (SM) and I am now a 5 star reviewed contractor. I am not going to kiss their ass, cause I figure most of you would assume I work for the company, instead I will start with a complaint. Anyone who wants a realistic review of how I am doing with them, just ask. (To sum it up I land about 1/10 leads, and am happy with that)

Complaint #1:

Service Magic contacts previous customers who have used the service and asks them if they have any new projects they would like to have bid. Then when the customer says "Not really" they encourage them to think hard, maybe they really would like a new kitchen ....someday. So the customers eventually relent and say "Sure". Now they sell this "lead" to 4 new contractors, despite the fact that they may already be working with and happy with another SM contractor, who would perhaps like to bid that kitchen, but MORE likely, and I've had this happen a few times, when you contact them they say "Oh, we weren't really serious. The SM rep just pressed us to come up with something, even though we told them We werent serious" You just paid $50 for a dead end, and more likely the customer is now angry with SM and wont use them again.

Complaint#2:

Soemone visits Service Magic and wants some window treatements hung. Unfortunately there are no contractors covering "Hang window treatments" in that area, but rather than be unable to SELL that lead to contractors, they change it to the category "Hire a Handyman". Now you get that lead, if you service this category, despite the fact that you do not service the category "Hang window treatments"

Why they want to ruin their reputation by doing this shady sht is beyond me.

Other than those scams,...I am happy. :)

·
Project Manager HFH..
3,711 Posts