Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Head Light Bulb Changer
847 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just having a discussion with a contractor buddy of mine and this subject came up.

I consider myself a fairly competent carpenter who can pretty much do any job required in building or repairing a house. I've done every aspect of construction. Some I'm good at, some I don't phvck op too bad.

So - On your OWN home, what was the best thing(s) you paid someone else to do for you?

For me, it was 2 things -

1) New roof. I sat in my lawn chair, drinking beer, watching them boys hustle. I was cracking myself up trying to act like an ******* homeowner,but I just couldn't do it. I've been using the same roofer for 12+ years. I ended up helping them clean up (after I filled a cooler full of beer for quitting time).

2) Masonry/Block work. I had a foundation failure and my mason set 100+ blocks in a short day. I built a small retaining wall (+-20 blocks) and it took me ALL (long) day.

I'm a very picky person and I don't like other people doing the things I know I can do myself on my own home.

Are there times that you just don't want to do something and would rather pay someone else?

·
Contractor of the Month
26,075 Posts
I'd always rather someone else do it than myself.

But pecuniary restrictions can get in the way.

·
Capra Aegagrus
Remodeler
25,219 Posts
Cutting down a 90' oak tree 10' from the house. The guy went as high as he could with his bucket truck, then climbed out and spiked his way up higher before starting to cut.

I enjoyed watching that.

·
Love me some Concrete
1,834 Posts