Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post here so please bear with me and Ill try to list all details of problem.

I am a sub contractor (electrical). We were notified that we were chosen to perform a retail fit out 2 days after the project start date. I wasnt able to staff the project until 3 days later. Come to find out the By the time my guys were on site, The GC had his men there for almost a week and were already 50% done with framing. Needless to say we came in already very far behind. However my guys kicked ass and not only caught up but got about 75% of the total build done. However we were to do some Slab cutting for our conduit(about 80' X 6"). we were informed by the Super that the slab was 4" thick and proceeded to rent a wet saw that had a cutting depth of 4.5". well not only did the slab turn out to be 7.5" + but the machine kept breaking. So we lost alot of time dickering around with it and finally got all the cuts made. Now we just tried jack hammering to remove them and the damn cement must be some special stuff cus it took 2 men two hours to get one 8 foot by 6 inch section...( yes were not mason or concrete workers or whatever there called) but its definitely not something we can handle. Now because of the flack my foreman got from the super about schedules and the painters and the carpeters ETC ETC, he said ***x it and walked off. Now at this point I should point out that the entire build is about 3 weeks ahead of schedule... and the GC will not make any adjustments to the schedule to accommodate the Trench work. This I feel is very unreasonable...TO add to this the fact that our payment schedule is NET 60 ( yes I Know but I had a few bucks from the 2 of the previous projects to float this one) However that money is gone and I wont be receiving any more funds from the GC any time soon...Not only did my foreman walk off the job but He wont even