Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a self employed finish carpenter with a DBA. I have a health, disability, accident and sickness policies. Which policy if any can I deduct the monthly payments. Also I recieved some payments from my disability policy while out with shoulder surgury. I'm I require to report this income as taxable? Thanks

·
Nest Home Improvement
890 Posts
I'm a self employed finish carpenter with a DBA. I have a health, disability, accident and sickness policies. Which policy if any can I deduct the monthly payments. Also I recieved some payments from my disability policy while out with shoulder surgury. I'm I require to report this income as taxable? Thanks

I would ask your accountant for their advice. However, premiums paid for health insurance, disability, accident and sickness all seem to be business expenses. Any payments you received from disability would likely be considered income (they will likely send you a 1099-misc at the end of the year).

·
Administrator
Maker of Fine Sawdust
50,678 Posts
Any insurances you have that are in the businesses name should be deductible from gross receipts. Any income you get from your disability insurance is income. Income gets taxed. Anything you buy (tools, services, and some food) in the businesses name should come off the final gross income. Some of the larger purchases will have to be depreciated.

Ask your accountand or CPA.

·
Registered
1,221 Posts
Any insurances you have that are in the businesses name should be deductible from gross receipts. Any income you get from your disability insurance is income. Income gets taxed. Anything you buy (tools, services, and some food) in the businesses name should come off the final gross income. Some of the larger purchases will have to be depreciated.

Ask your accountand or CPA.