Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok,please bear with me,as I am a carpenter with minimal plumbing knowledge,i have an on demand water heater that is misfunctioning,it takes a few minutes to warm up and after it does it becomes cold after a few minutes,is there anything I can try to fix this myself?im very handy but don't even know where to begin,any help appreciated my wife is about to kill me!:laughing:

·
Registered
534 Posts
Had a similar problem with mine at home. I am a carpenter not a plumber. What I figured out was it was a flow problem. The screen on the tap was partially plugged with iron and was restricting the flow. The initial hot water was just what was present in the line when I turned it on, then returned to cold. I removed the screen off the tap and the flow increased. It fixed the problem. I cleaned the screen and all was well. One of the plumbers might chime in but I am guessing that the heater requires a certain flow rate before it will operate. Try removing the screen [ aerator} and see if it works. Hope this helps. To add as an edit, it was only happening on one of my taps, not all them.

·
Registered
44 Posts
ok,please bear with me,as I am a carpenter with minimal plumbing knowledge,i have an on demand water heater that is misfunctioning,it takes a few minutes to warm up and after it does it becomes cold after a few minutes,is there anything I can try to fix this myself?im very handy but don't even know where to begin,any help appreciated my wife is about to kill me!:laughing:

If it's gas what brand and btu. Takagi's were the rage ten years ago. If yes on gas, and similar to a takagi tk-2 than you need a dedicated gas line. The problem back then is most companies would slam one in and tee off the gas line, wont work.

Is there return line with pump?